Skip to content

Lazy Brunei Bread

November 18, 2014

IMG_0563[1]       IMG_0568[1]

I know, its been aaaages since I last post on here.  I must get back here and use this blog more.  Today’s post is a little different, as I have decided to try my hand at putting a recipe on here. Many of us try baking our own bread here in Brunei because the supermarket stuff is pathetic, it’s too light, has no flavour, doesn’t fill you up and there is no variety (just wholemeal or white).  I get lots of requests for my bread recipe, and I’m tired of scrawling instructions onto bits of paper, now you will just get a link to this blog and it should be all here including some handy pics.  I’ve been perfecting this recipe over the last year and it is a regular in our household now.

I think I originally started with this Overnight Bread recipe: http://www.the-baker-chick.com/2013/02/no-knead-crusty-artisan-bread/ , and have further simplified it using ingredients I can find here in Brunei.  It really is super easy to make as well, no kneading or proving, just mix, wait then bake.

IMG_0566[1]

I tend to use this brand of bread mix that I can buy locally in our German Shop for about $1.50 a bag.  Of course all of the instructions are in German, so I usually ignore them and make the bread my own way.  Google translate tells me that Mit Hefe means “with yeast”, so these mixes handily have the yeast already in them.  There are four or five different flavours of this brand of bread mix, ranging from light rye, to dark rye and wholemeal with various seeds/grains, they are all nice and I usually buy a selection of whatever is on the shelves at the time.

IMG_0567[1]

If the German shop is out of that brand of mix (this is a common occurence in Brunei resulting in massive bulk buying whenever the shop has what you want) I use either of these two, again depending on what is in store at Supasave.  When I use these bread mix’s I use the original recipe quantities which is : 3 cups of bread mix/flour, 1 1/2 c water, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp yeast.

IMG_0556[1]

You need to start your bread right before you go to bed at night so it can do all of its magic overnight while you sleep.  I mixed up these two batches in about 2 mins last night at 10pm.  I used the German Kuchenmeister brand, one bag in each bowl, then water straight from the filter.  I didn’t measure the water, but just added as I stirred with a wooden spoon until all the dry ingredients had incorporated with the water and I was left with a very wet looking mixture.  Remember that because you don’t have to knead this bread it can be a bit softer than normal bread mixes.  Just do the minimum amount of stirring required to mix it all, then cover the bowl with cling film, leave on the bench overnight and you can go to bed.IMG_0557[1]

The next morning, when you have time to bake (for me it was at 10am after yoga), pop a lidded casserole dish in the oven and heat the oven to as hot as it will go, about 220c in my oven.  When the oven is at temperature take out the dish and sprinkle the base lightly with flour.

IMG_0565[1]IMG_0559[1]

Using floured fingertips gently scrape the dough away from the sides of the bowl while tipping the bowl.  Use plenty of flour to do this and try not to squash all of the air bubbles out of the dough. Tip the dough into your floured, heated dish, pop the lid on then put it in the oven for about half an hour. It is important that you have a lid on your casserole dish to let the steam build up inside, this helps the bread to rise properly.

IMG_0561[1] IMG_0560[1]

After half an hour the dough will have done all its rising, so you can remove the lid from your casserole dish and leave the bread in the oven for another half hour to finish cooking and browning.  Use your judgement here and give it longer or shorter cooking time if it needs it.

IMG_0562[1]      IMG_0569[1]

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

